Gulf currency by 2010, say Saudis

The original idea was floated in 1981, soon after the formation of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) -- which consists of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates -- as part of a programme of economic integration.

So far, the GCC countries have made considerable steps towards the single-currency goal, said Muhammad Al-Jasser and Abdulrahman Al-Hamidy of SAMA in a report made public last week. Measures to link the nations’ stock markets are already afoot.


To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a FX Week account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: