BoA elects post-merger board

The line-up, announced after shareholders of both banks approved the merger, reflected a BoA bias, with 12 directors from Bank of America and seven from Fleet. Charles Gifford, Fleet’s chairman and chief executive, will be chairman of the new board while BoA’s president Kenneth Lewis will become chief executive officer of the company. Other board members include James Hance, BoA’s vice-chairman and chief financial officer and Eugene McQuade, president and chief operating officer at Fleet.