EU enlargement may increase euro liquidity

Ten countries -- Hungary, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta and Cyprus -- are set to join the EU in 2004. The size of the eurozone market will be increased by 40%.

"As the countries integrate, we should see a deeper and more liquid market," said Kamal Sharma, currency strategist at Commerzbank in London. "From a trade perspective, the market will be more fluid."

At present, trading in the currencies of the ascension countries accounts for 0.2%, or $5

To continue reading...

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a FX Week account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: